First-Time DUI in Bakersfield
Even for first time offenders, motorists who are arrested for drunk driving in the state of California can face serious penalties. Law enforcement can show that you are under the influence of alcohol through either a sobriety test or a chemical test. However, no matter the severity of your case, our seasoned Bakersfield DUI Attorneys can defend you. At The Brehmer Firm, we make it our priority to tirelessly fight your first-time DUI charge to try and minimize the damage it can have on you and your future.
Penalties You Could Face if Convicted
If you are convicted of your first time DUI charge in California, a number of penalties will be imposed. First time offenders could face:
- Between $1400 and $2600 in fines and fees
- Suspended License from 30 days to 10 months
- 4 days to 6 months in jail
A DUI will remain on your record for 10 years and will be relevant for sentencing.
Even stricter drunk driving laws exist for motorists under the age of 21. Individuals in this category can be charged with DUI with a BAC (blood alcohol concentration) level of 0.01%. A “no tolerance” law exists for drivers under the age of 18.
Motorists who refuse to submit to a chemical test are subject to a fine and automatic license suspension under California’s implied consent law. For a first offense of refusing to submit, a one year driver’s license suspension can be imposed.
The Brehmer Firm
As a misdemeanor crime, an individual charged with DUI will be entitled to a trial by jury before being convicted, along with a DMV hearing to potentially protect their license. During each step of your case, you will want to ensure that you are being adequately protected by an aggressive Bakersfield DUI lawyer. Call our firm today for the dedicated legal guidance you need.